Donate to my SDR surgery!

PLEASE SHARE/RT THIS POST!

As many of you know, I was born with cerebral palsy. I am 39 years old and recently learned of a surgery that can significantly provide reduction of spasticity in my legs. This means I will have better balance, walk better, less tightness and stiffness in my legs and an overall positive effect on my life and well being. The surgery is called Selective Dorsal Rhizotomy (SDR), procedure performed on patients with cerebral palsy.

My Coventry Medicare HMO insurance denied my request to have SDR in St. Louis with Dr. Park, the surgeon world renowned for this procedure – and one of the few who performs SDR on adults. Dealing with the insurance company has been a very disheartening process.

This is where you can assist me and my family. We need to raise money for the surgery (at least $40,000), for the physical therapy needed after surgery, for airline flights and accommodations for two people to travel to St. Louis for 8-9 days for the surgery and to return four months later for a follow-up visit.

It is recommended that the surgery is done by the patient’s 40th birthday. I will be 40 this June. It would be an incredible birthday gift. I planned to have the surgery in March 2013. This will not happen unless I raise the money. I need your help to get new legs! Please reach into your hearts and help any way you can.

Thank you for your donation! Every cent counts! Please help me spread the word by sharing my story with your family and friends.

Donate Now

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bareyournaketruth
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 11:48:19

    I’ve set up a Fundrazr campaign here: https://fundrazr.com/campaigns/4OBp3 Please share/RT the link and donate if you can! Thank you!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: My Blog’s First Anniversary! « bareyournakedtruth

Leave a Reply

The Blog Farm
