My Blog’s First Anniversary!

One year ago today, I decided to start a blog, thanks to the encouragement of my best friend, Renee. Blogging was the best decision I made in 2012! It allows me to share my articles and poems with people all around the world. I’ve met the nicest people – many of them fellow bloggers – who have supported me from the beginning. I’ll never forget how exciting it was to receive multiple awards from bloggers (six in one week) just two months after dipping my toe into the WordPress waters. Getting nominated from peers inspired me to keep going even when I wasn’t sure what I was doing! Thank you to my top three commenters: readinpleasure, thejerseygal, and boomiebol. I’ve become friends will these wonderful women. Their work is terrific!

Blogging opened up a world of possibilities. I jumped right in and started posting. Soon, I met new friends. I learned a lot from so many talented people. I joined The Blogging Mastermind Comment Tribe on Facebook – a great group that helps boost blog traffic. I was fortunate to be featured on many sites throughout the year, thanks to the following people I met (with the exception of Marisa, who is a friend in real life) as a result of blogging: Darlene from Peeking Between the Pages, Hajra Kvetches from We Blog Stalk, Gene Manual from The Whirling Blog, Alicia Rades from A Guide 4 Women, Deanna Samaan from The Lovely Pink Diva, Lisa Marie Selow, Marisa Zepierri-Caruana from Wordslingergal, and Serena from Savvy Verse & Witt.

Here are the highlights with lots of links to get you caught up:

In April, I participated in the National Poetry Month 2012 blog tour at Peeking Between the Pages.

In May, I announced GROUND BREAKING BLOGGING NEWS! Check out my blog posts as a contributing blogger for The Balancing Act.

In June, I wrote my first author guest post for The Whirling Blog. This was the first guest post I’d ever written. Thank you, Gene Manuel, for saying yes and featuring a newbie on your awesome blog. I was also the featured author interview for a special edition of The Lovely Pink Diva. Read June News to find out which awards I won just in time to celebrate my birthday!

In July, I was the first featured Wonderful Woman for A Guide 4 Women. I am honored that Alicia Rades, a fellow blogger and one of my loyal supporters, chose me to debut this new section on her site. Alicia is wonderful! Contact her if you want to nominate a wonderful woman in your life. July also marked my entrance (thanks to my brother) in a Caregiver Cruise Contest Getaway. So many people voted for me over a period of two months. Thank you for your multiple votes, shares, and tweets. The reason for my entrance was revealed when I learned about a life-changing surgery for people with cerebral palsy.

In August, my friend and Hay House best selling author Lisa Marie Selow, invited me to write an excerpt for A Positive Rebel’s Companion, an ebook she offers as a gift (just one of many cool gifts) if you order her self-help book, A Rebel Chick Mystic’s Guide. Lisa is also gifting a copy of the ebook if you make any sized donation to my campaign. Thank you, Lisa, for dedicating a post on your website about my simple dream of getting new legs.

In October, I was delighted to be featured on We Blog Stalk! simply because I asked. Wow, it really is that simple!

In November, I started a fundraiser to raise the money so I can have SDR in March. So far, I’ve raised close to $2,700 thanks to donations from family and friends – mostly facebook friends I’ve never had the pleasure of meeting. Thank you so much for your donations and support. Find out how you can help me get new legs by downloading “Don’t Let Christmas Go” for just 99 cents. Thank you to the award winning writers of “Hiding from the Rain,” Jeana Potthoff and Richard Roman, for donating their songwriter’s royalties on the first 5,000 downloads of this beautiful song.

On December 4, my poetry book, Naked Desires celebrated ten years in print! Three days later, my blog reached a major milestone! Last, but certainly not least, my friend Marisa Zeppieri-Caruana featured Naked Desires on Wordslingergal.

It’s been quite a year! I couldn’t have made it this far without the support of my readers. I am grateful to my family, friends, and all my fellow WordPress bloggers for leaving comments, liking posts and following my blog. Instead of the typical resolutions, I’m making NEW YES Resolutions! I’m saying YES to getting in good shape for my surgery! I’m saying YES to reaching new blogging heights in 2013!

What are you saying YES to this year?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alicia
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 09:23:56

    Nicole, you’ve accomplished so much with this blog. I don’t doubt that this year has a lot in store for you, too. Thanks for mentioning me!

    Reply

  2. Lisa Marie Selow
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 09:26:29

    Nicole,
    Congrats on your blog’s anniversary! I’m so glad we “met” online and so grateful for all of your help, love, and support. I hope you have a wonderful, happy, successful 2013! Much love to you!

    Reply

  3. readinpleasure
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 09:28:01

    Congratulations, Nicole.here is to more years.

    Reply

  4. luv2sex.info
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 10:49:55

    2012 was an eventful year for you, wish that 2013 will be better for you in every aspects

    Reply

  5. boomiebol
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 12:50:19

    Congratulations on your amazing achievements Nicole. Very well done. Here’s to a bigger better year.

    Reply

    • bareyournaketruth
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 17:07:03

      Hi Boomie,

      Thank you for always stopping by with words of encouragement. You’ve supported my blog from the beginning, which I appreciate very much. I hope you have a bigger, better blogging year in 2013!

      Reply

  6. Hajra
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 15:10:22

    I am so glad you asked. I got introduced to your blog and to you! Here’s wishing there are many more wonderful years to come! :)

    Reply

  7. Subhan Zein
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 08:44:07

    Again, congratz! :-)

    Subhan Zein

    Reply

  8. sagustocox
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 18:29:20

    Thanks for mentioning my blog. It was great having you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Blog Farm
