Help Nicole’s New Legs Train in Scotland!

A good traveler has no fixed plans and is not intent on arriving. A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.” –Lao Tzu

Here is the latest Selective Dorsal Rhizotomy (SDR) UPDATE:

Wow, can you believe it’s been nearly one year since my life-changing surgery? I’m excited to announce the next step of my SDR journey. I’m embarking on an SDR U.K. Adventure! In a few short months, I’ll be traveling to Perth, Scotland to receive specialized post-SDR training with Mike Poole at MP Fitness! Watch the video and you will understand why Mike’s specialized training (recommended by my neurosurgeon, Dr. T.S. Park) is sought out by SDR families around the world. At 40 (I will turn 41 during my trip), I will be Mike’s oldest patient to date by far. There really isn’t anything like this available in the United States – certainly not for adults! So, when this incredible opportunity came my way, I had to say YES! I want to learn how to use my new legs to their maximum potential. This is exactly what Mike teaches his clients! This trip is only possible because of donations to my Nicole’s New Legs fundraiser and Mike’s generosity. I need to raise more money for accommodations, food, etc. during my two week stay in Scotland. The training is two hours a day for ten days, not including weekends.

I am passionate about spreading the word and raising global awareness for this life-changing surgery. Since my SDR last March, I’ve shared my story with many people. I’ve answered e-mails, offered words of encouragement and support and continue to do so. I even tweeted Ashton Kutcher (his brother has cerebral palsy) asking for his help to raise awareness! Traveling from America to the United Kingdom will add another dimension to my story, making it possible to reach so many more who may benefit from SDR. I also want to meet many SDR families (their children inspired me to go for SDR) who have supported me along the way. So many wonderful people have offered to host me, drive me to other cities, etc. Unfortunately, everyone lives in different parts of the U.K.

There are FOUR ways you can help:

1. Donate to my Help Nicole Nicole’s New Legs Train in Scotland fundraiser. A percentage from every donation goes to Fundrazr.com.

2. Contact me if you can help get an airline to donate miles OR if you want to donate frequent flyer miles.

3. Buy Bracelets for Bravery!

4. Please SHARE and RE-TWEET this post as often as possible!

Thank you for supporting my SDR journey!

Love,

Nicole

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Buy Bracelets for Bravery! | bareyournakedtruth
  2. Trackback: Surgery Update: RUNNING WITH SDR! | bareyournakedtruth

Leave a Reply

The Blog Farm
