FORGIVENESS: The Naked Truth

“Forgiveness is not an occasional act, it is a constant attitude.”
―Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Today, as we observe Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, I find myself thinking about the man who so elegantly fought to achieve equality for ALL people. Dr. King had a big vision for his people, his nation. Sadly, his life ended before he could see the positive results that were born from his non-violent marches, protests, and inspirational speeches.

As I ponder the subject of forgiveness, I wonder if Dr. King struggled with this issue. His beloved nation believed the color of his skin made him inferior to white people. How did he forgive his country? How did forgive those who did not want to share buses, bathrooms, or restaurants with “colored” (the term used back in the days of the civil rights movement) people?

“As my sufferings mounted I soon realized that there were two ways in which I could respond to my situation — either to react with bitterness or seek to transform the suffering into a creative force. I decided to follow the latter course.” ― Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Dr. King went on to do great things for our country because he understood the power of forgiveness. He understood what forgiveness is – and, what it is not. He knew forgiveness meant having mercy on people who didn’t know better; he counteracted hate with education and love.

Maybe it’s time we educate ourselves about forgiveness. Many of us confuse forgiveness with agreeing with whatever happened that is causing us to forgive ourselves or someone else. Consider Dr. Wayne W. Dyer’s wise words: “Look into your heart and be honest about all the people in your past who have harmed you in any way. Where there is pain, practice pardon. Forgiveness is the very foundation of spiritual awakening.”

The NAKED TRUTH about forgiveness: When you forgive, you do it so you can transform your suffering into something more positive – perhaps personal growth, tolerance, or simply realizing that we all make mistakes.

Like Dr. King said, forgiveness is a constant attitude. Think about it – there is always someone or something to forgive, from the guy who cut you off in traffic, to the sister who treats you like you have a contagious disease. If Dr. King could forgive the many injustices he encountered – many MAJOR injustices – it’s possible for us to forgive the injustices – both big and small – in our own lives. How? Just remember that forgiveness is not an occasional act. Embrace a constant, conscious attitude of forgiveness – one seemingly unforgivable moment at a time.

32 thoughts on “FORGIVENESS: The Naked Truth

  1. I could not have said it better my dear sister. You write so eloquently. I am so proud of you and the wonderful insight you are sharing with others. Keep up the good and positive work.

  2. Nice piece I personally need to focus my efforts on forgiving others, it takes a lot of inner strenght to forgive people for their wrongful actions. Great article Nicole keep up the good work. 🙂 Rudy T.

  3. I am really enjoying reading your blog and I know that I can’t begin to express myself giving you your due praise…. but I will try. You are really gifted and while reading your blog your courage, love and empathy shine through. I find your writing profoundly moving and touching. Please don’t stop. You have found your special niche.

  4. thank you for useing your blog to remind us of the importance of forgiveness for ourselves and others. We should also remember the forgiveness of Jesus as he asked the Father to “fogive them for they know not what they do”. There are times we may be harmed by someone out of their ignorance. Whether the harm is intentional or unintentional spiteful or injest we should practice forgiviness, the positive juicies of forgiveness serves us all well.

  5. You’re so cool! I don’t suppose I’ve learned something like this before. So good to seek out somebody with some unique thoughts on this subject. I really thank you for beginning this up. This web site is something that’s wanted on the web, someone with slight originality. Useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  6. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will at all times be stimulating to learn content from different writers and apply a little one thing from their store. I’d choose to make use of some with the content on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Naturally I’ll offer you a hyperlink on your next blog. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Wow, I love this Nicole! It came at the right time… I’m having some forgiveness issues today. I know I’m not justified, but it is easier to hold onto anger sometimes than to let go and take responsibility for your quality of life. Thanks for sharing

    • Hi Melissa,

      You’re welcome. I’m glad you saw this at the right time. With regard to holding on to anger, remember that you’re human! Anger is a powerful emotion and is the root of hurt and pain. We’ve all been there; it’s important not to stay there.

  8. I am amazed whenever I see someone holding onto a grudge or some other type of hurt. Forgiving others is so much less about them….so much more about US! It took me forever to learn that. Thanks so much for sharing, Nicole. I love coming to your blog!

    • Hi Christi,

      Thanks! I’m glad you are enjoying my blog. Do you have any tips on how not to hold a grudge? What do you do when you feel like letting anger and hurtful emotions get the best of you (if this happens to you)?

Leave a Reply

