Celebrating World Kindness Day 2015

World Kindness Day is an international observance, celebrated every year on November 13.

When I started this blog back in 2012, I had no idea what I was doing (I’m still not sure that I know…LOL). It like I was flying by the seat of my pants, learning as I went along. I had many ups and downs. It was the kindness of so many people that boosted my confidence. My fellow WordPress bloggers started following my site, even nominating me for numerous awards. Nothing feels better than knowing peers appreciate your work. I channeled Sally Field: “They like me, they REALLY like me!”

I worked so hard seeking out other writers whom I admired. I shared my posts (to the dismay of some) continuously on Facebook — resulting in my blog getting 5,000 total views in its first year! I spent time on Twitter (totally confused, and still am, with it’s appeal), connecting with like-minded people. And, then I found him: Gene-Manual Whirling, an amazing artist and kind human being. If memory serves, I tweeted Gene that I’d love to write for him, never thinking he’d say YES! It’s one thing to write for your own blog, it’s another to write for someone who has a well-established website with very successful contributors. I couldn’t believe it when Gene said YES!! He was so kind to take a chance on me. I’ll never forget it. Thank you, Gene. It’s because of your confidence in me, and willingness to work with me, that I began to branch out, asking other bloggers if I could write for them. Now, I’m a contributing writer to The Huffington Post and The Mighty!

I talk about kindness in my first guest blog post (a mere five months after I started my blog) “Life Lessons” for The Whirling Blog. This was adapted from a speech I gave in Toastmasters many years ago!

Happy World Kindness Day! Post in the comments below about your favorite acts of kindness . Tell me what you did for someone, or something another person did for you. ❤ Kindness matters!

2 thoughts on “Celebrating World Kindness Day 2015

  1. A woman at work recently had a birthday – she has no family, little money and many problems. She mentioned to me that her dog, Tyra, was starting to have difficulty jumping up on the couch, bed, etc. I told her about “doggie” steps . . . and a few days later, I bought them for her as a belated birthday present because I knew she couldn’t spend $45.00 for that purpose! She was so very appreciative and reminded me how little acts of kindness make a difference.

Leave a Reply

